Vegan Chocolate Pie/Pudding

23 Oct

This was great as a pie but I think it would be way better as a vegan pudding.  I didn’t have access to silken tofu though, and I’m sure that would make it smoother and creamier than the soft tofu I used.  Either way, it was really chocolatey and satisfied my sweet tooth without leaving me feeling *too* guilty 😉  Also, I forgot whipped cream (vegan substitute).  That would’ve made this completely awesome.

For the crust:

1/2 cup oats, processed to flour
1/2 cup flour (I used whole wheat)
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 cup sugar (I used brown)
1/4 cup oil (I used canola)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

In a food processor, add in the oat flour, flour, baking soda, salt, vanilla and sugar.

Mix.

While mixing, add in the oil until wet and crumbly.

Press into an oiled dish and bake for about 15 minutes.

For the filling:

1 block silken tofu (I used soft because I couldn’t find silken)
10 oz. vegan chocolate chips (most bags are 12 oz…. so that means the leftover 2 oz. mysteriously disappeared while the pie was being made..)
1 Tbsp cocoa powder
2 Tbsp non-dairy milk
3 Tbsp sugar

Rinse out the food processor.  Place the tofu in it.

In a glass bowl over a pot of a small amount of boiling water, melt the chocolate chips until smooth.

Add the chocolate to the food processor with the tofu.  Mix together until smooth.

Add in the other ingredients and mix until smooth.

***Since I used soft tofu, the consistency was too thick so as it was mixing I poured in some more milk until it was the right consistency.  Didn’t measure this but I’d guess it was around 1/4 cup milk, maybe a little more.  Just eyeball the consistency and if you think it’s too thick, add some more milk.***

Pour the filling into the crust and refrigerate for a few hours.

3 Responses to “Vegan Chocolate Pie/Pudding”

  1. Savory Simple October 23, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    I love a good vegan dessert. This looks heavenly!

  2. A Tablespoon of Liz October 23, 2011 at 11:48 am #

    This looks amazing! I think I’d like it as a pudding too… half the time when I eat pie I just eat the filling and leave the crust.

  3. Jessica P October 23, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

    Wow, that looks sooo frikkin good! My mouth is watering! I’m gonna have to make that. Like, now.

    Awesome stuff!

    Jessica P xo
    My Latest Blog Post: Recipe: Vegan Banana Loaf Cake

Leave a Reply

