Sushi!!!

6 Oct

I finally did it!! I made my own SUSHI!!  haha.  I have been CRAVING sushi for weeks but….um… too expensive.  So I took a trip to the Asian market and for $12 got all the necessary supplies to make my own:  bamboo roller, nori, rice, rice vinegar, and veggies.  The rice and nori will last me a long time, so this is definitely a bargain!

carrot, cucumber and green onion sushi

We had sushi for dinner one night, using different combinations of veggies like green onion, carrot, sweet potato and cucumber.  On some we topped it with a crunchy mix of whole wheat panko bread crumbs mixed with a 1:1 ratio of mayo to sriracha.

Basically, making these was really easy!  I saved money by not getting “sushi rice” but rather “broken grain jasmine rice”.  Any rice of this sort should do though.  I cooked it in a rice cooker, then removed it to a bowl and mixed in a mixture of rice vinegar, sugar and a tiny bit of salt.  I let the rice sit and cool to room temp, then was ready to make the sushi.  The rest is self explanatory 🙂  I would totally do this again and can’t wait to try new combinations!

 

3 Responses to “Sushi!!!”

  1. frugalfeeding October 6, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

    They look really delicious! I’ve never tried sushi as it has never appealed – but I’d certainly eat these.

  2. Kara Goldsborough October 6, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

    Love, love, love Sushi! Thanks for instigating a major craving!

    Kara
    http://cookbakeeatlove.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

