Healthy Potato Salad

5 Aug

I’m from the south.  A typical picnic growing up consisted of mayonnaise-based potato salad and Publix deli fried chicken.  Potato salad that wasn’t creamy just wasn’t right to me.  That is, until I met my boyfriend.

Matt is from Germany and over there they do potato salad a little differently.  I remember when we visited a restaurant near Rothenburg that served only potatoes.  The entire menu was potato-based dishes.  I was a poor college student and could only afford two small baked potatoes, which were probably the best baked potatoes I’ve had in my life.  But Matt got this:

An awesome plate of all things potato-y and cheesy.

But in the background is the potato salad we had.  It wasn’t anything like the kind I grew up with; this was tangy and vinegary and …way better.

So in my attempt to re-create almost everything I ate on that trip, but to make it healthy, I came up with this:

Healthy Potato Salad

Loaded with veggies and with no mayo, this stuff is way better for me and also way tastier than that mayo-stuff from Publix.

**Serves 4 as a side dish**

Ingredients:
3 medium sized baking potatoes
1/2 of a green pepper, finely diced
1 shallot, finely diced
1 clove of garlic, finely diced
1/4 cup frozen corn
3 Tbsp vinegar
3 Tbsp olive oil
salt and pepper
1 Tbsp bacon bits, optional

Wash, peel and dice the potatoes.  Place in a pot of liberally salted water and bring to a boil.

Boil until just fork tender.  You don’t want to overcook them.

Right before draining, add the frozen corn the the pot of water.  Drain the corn and potatoes in a colander.

In the meantime, add the chopped shallot, pepper, garlic, oil and vinegar to a large bowl.

Whisk together until incorporated.

Add in the potatoes and corn.

Stir all together gently.

Season with salt and pepper.

Stir a few more times, gently.

Serve warm or chilled.

Leave a Reply

