Basic Sandwich Bread

5 Aug

I had gotten a bread machine for Christmas and only until after the move did I have the space to use it!  So I tried out a basic sandwich bread recipe and it came out perfectly!  The crust was awesome and the bread tasted so good I ate only that for dinner : )  While I’m not a fan of the shape of the loaf (it is way too tall and yields HUGE slices), the machine is nice for in the summer when I don’t want to heat up my kitchen by using an oven.  I can’t wait to experiment with whole wheat versions and to make more complex loaves!

Loaf shape

For my bread machine (Food Network brand) the loaf yielded about 12 huge slices.

Adapted from this link:  http://www.food.com/recipe/throw-away-the-bread-machine-instructions-white-bread-339905

Directions:

Add the following in order to the bread machine:

1 cup warm water
2 Tbsp sugar (and stir)
2 1/4 tsp bread machine yeast

Let sit for 10 minutes (no less than this).

Now add the following ingredients in order:
4 Tbsp oil
3 cups bread flour
1 tsp salt

Follow the directions for “basic” on the machine, and then let it do all the work!

I loved this bread with garlic butter or just dipping it in olive oil and some spices, although it’s perfect to make sandwiches out of.

One Response to “Basic Sandwich Bread”

  1. universescollide August 22, 2011 at 7:18 am #

    holy shit!!!! (I know this is a very wally-like response, but whatever, lol). this looks amazing and like real bread and not the clumpy stuff I make!

Leave a Reply

